Book by phone: +1 (800) 446-7307
Hale Kai # 101 - entrance

Hale Kai # 101

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental condominium. Sleeps 6, 2 bedrooms, 1 bathroom. No pets allowed.

3691 Lower Honoapiilani Rd #101 Lahaina, HI 96761 United States

Aloha and welcome to Hale Kai # 101




Beautiful oceanfront two bedroom condo with king bed, two twin beds and sleeper sofa that can accommodate up to six people. The condo was fully remodeled and refurnished in 2014. The condo is located literally on the beach and adjacent to a park. Unit #101 is located on the ground floor and enjoys direct ocean views. The complex features a pool, laundry facilities, parking and barbecues. The complex is across the street from a farmer’s market and several small restaurants.



We invite you to view the reef fish at low tide in the early morning…play in the ocean, snorkel or swim with the sea turtles. The inviting beach just outside our condo is perfect for building sand castles, relaxing with a favorite book or enjoying the beauty and peacefulness of “Old Hawaii”.



We are located in the small community of Honokowai in West Maui and are just minutes from the world-famous Kaanapali Beach, Kapalua and Napili Bay as well as the historic town of Lahaina. Honokowai has some of the best weather in Maui. World-class golf courses are located nearby.



Rates:

Rates for this unit are based on four occupants, (additional $10/night/person), and vary depending on season, length of stay and whether booked at the last moment. Please specify your desired dates on the "Rates & Availability" tab to obtain a quote for your specific circumstances.


Additional Links:



Managed by HKR LLC, Hawaii Tax ID #: W33827739-01.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Condominium, 1 story
Unit Code 101
Beds 1 king bed, 2 twin beds, 1 sleeper sofa
Bathrooms 1 bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 6, Non-Smoking
Floor Area 851 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Smoking Prohibited in unit and on lanai
Room Comfort Ceiling Fans, Louvered Windows, Additional end-unit windows, Lanai Solar Screen, Wide building eaves, Air Conditioning not applicable
Kitchen Full Kitchen, Refrigerator, Range, Dishwasher, Microwave, Cookware, Coffee Maker, Toaster, Blender, Dishware, Glassware, Flatware, Cooking Utensils
Living High Speed Wireless Internet, Linens, Beach Towels, Iron and Ironing Board, Hair Dryer, In Room Hotel Safe
Entertainment Cable TV
Lanai Non-Smoking, Patio Set, Chaise Lounge
Common Area Access to Adjoining Beach, Oceanfront Pool, Oceanfront Gas Barbeques, Onsite Laundry Room, Onsite Rental Office, Off-Street Parking for 1 Vehicle
Nearby Beach Park, Farmers' Market, Grocery, Neighborhood Restaurants, Golf Courses, Tennis Courts, Exercise Fitness Facility, Spa, Resort Areas, Tourist Attractions, Shopping
Average Manager Rating (Based on 999 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 49 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
96 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Be careful what you wish for LOL

    Stayed 6 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Shoreline, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Overall it was a good condo, quiet quant older property just what I wanted.

    PRO's location right on the beach,beautifully updated. Shades for privacy and to keep late sun heat out along the windows.Plenty of trade wind cross ventilation to keep cool. Everything you need to cook and BBQ. Valarie at the desk was very helpful.Everything you need in walking distance.

    Con's right on a park so there were people right at the property(not much of an issue as we are friendly people)oh and renters walk right by. Bed was firm,we were in the market for a new bed so we checked it out and found out it had been flipped with pillow top on the bottom, not sure why so we flipped it back.
    Make sure you bring ear plugs as the wave crashing was loud, husband loved it.
    A mop would have been nice, I had a bucket with water for our feet to keep sand down inside.

  •  
  • Hale Kai 101--Amazing!

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from La Jolla, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    Incredible location in the complex--waves crashing right outside our window!

  •  
  • 101, March 8-24,

    Stayed 16 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Estacada, Or recommends this vacation rental

    We love staying at the Hale Kai !!
    This year the unit was clean upon arrival but noticed the top of refrigerator was very filthy with built up dust and grease
    If I could hope for any improvement it would be master bed bedding. Sheets are very thin. I know that is minimal
    I also wish for a better frypan that would sit in the stovetop solidly instead of only half on the burner. The toaster doesn't toast all the bread on all sides. One of the elements is out. Newer coffee maker? New bedspread in master?
    Thank you. We are back next year and can't wait!!!

    • Manager Responded on 4/25/2017

      I am so sorry you had any problems during your stay. I wish you would have conveyed them to me as I have new toasters, coffee pots, fry pan etc in my office. I am here on property to help guests with their needs. Having a clean units is very important me. I even put arrival ck-in form in every unit upon arrival so I can take of things to minimize any inconvenience to our guests. Mahalo for staying with us and I will see you and your family next year.

  •  
  • Best View In Maui

    Stayed 8 days ending in March, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barbara T from Shoreline, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed at the Hale Kai in unit 101 for our annual March visit. As usual we had a wonderful time with wonderful people. Unit 101 is uniquely located to have the best view possible of he ocean, sky, and islands. We saw many whales and turtles. Because the unit is adjacent to the park, there is no building right next door she the open expense of grass is lovely.

  •  
  • Beautiful vacation loved the condo!

    Stayed 8 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Spokane, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Very well maintained and amazing view. Loved the private lounges on the lanai and outside seating We absolutely loved spending the week here. Valerie in the office was great to work with and very pool was clean and very kept up along with all the landscaping . Farmers Market across the street was fantastic.

  •  
  • Our Beautiful Island Home Away From Our Beautiful Island Home!

    Stayed 22 days ending in January, 2017

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Victoria, BC recommends this vacation rental

    We love it at Hale Kai. Absolutely fantastic. We love this unit also - this is now our third stay in #101. Thank you Valerie (very professional and very pleasant) and all of the staff - everyone is terrific and helpful. We'll come again! Mahalo

  •  
  • The best condo!

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lahnie N from Santa Cruz, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We love this unit. The best place we could stay!

  •  
  • fun

    Stayed 5 days ending in August, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Russell B from San Diego, ca recommends this vacation rental

    nice

  •  
  • Oceanfront Heaven

    Stayed 5 days ending in June, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from La Jolla, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    We absolutely loved being on the ocean, the sunsets were spectacular, the sound of the waves at night was amazing. We really enjoyed having the home base of this less crowded, relaxed, local area which is also close to snorkeling, other beaches, the farmer's market,shops and resorts. The home is lovely and comfortable and we'd love to come back!

  •  
  • Great location!

    Stayed 10 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Calgary, Alberta does not recommend this vacation rental.

    My family (husband, 5 year old daughter and myself) stayed for 10 days. We found positives and negatives. I'll start with the negatives.
    - the floors were incredibly dirty, they really should have a thorough scrub between guests
    - the duvet cover and pillow sham covers were not clean and had stains on them, I think both food and dirt. The pillows smelt like hair and really need to be changed out.
    - we knew there wasn't air conditioning but thought the trade winds would be fine since it is literally on the ocean. However it just got too warm for us, especially from 3:00 - 6:30 until the sun sets when we would come inside to clean up and get ready for dinner.
    - lastly there was No Phone! I found this dangerous as we didn't bring our cell phones with us because we were trying to 'unconnect' and have family time together. That left us with no way to call for help in an emergency, based on that I wouldn't feel comfortable booking this unit again until that is rectified.
    Positives
    - it is right on the ocean. The smells, views and sounds are amazing and makes for an unbelievable experience.
    - the pool is right outside your front door, and it was kept very clean. We swam in it every day.
    - the beach is right outside your back patio, so if you forget something it is only a five minute walk to go grab whatever it is you need.
    - the staff and people in the complex were so friendly and it made us feel so comfortable.
    - the parking was easy and convenient, we love renting a car when we go to Maui so having that parking space is so important.

  •  
  • Aloha - Newport Australia

    Stayed 9 days ending in May, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jeremy C from Newport, NSW recommends this vacation rental

    The Charlton family had a great time at the condo we rented for 10 days. Conveniently located, well maintained and great help from Valerie. Would definitely stay there again.
    The only issue is that the common property allows other guests to walk past the front of the condo.

  •  
  • We love our Hale Kai home!

    Stayed 15 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Estacada, Or recommends this vacation rental

    We have visited Hale Kai more times than we can count. That says it all!!

  •  
  • Great Oceanfront location, but needs better housekeeping

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Samuel I from Irvine, CA does not recommend this vacation rental.

    Overall, a 3.5 star - Awesome location just 10 steps from the sands but that comes with waves crashing ( good for me, but young kids did not like as much ) and a fine dust from the nearby beach that make everything feel a bit covered with a thin grime. No A/C which is OK, but it can be a little humid. Spider webs and small mini-ants were in the drawers. We only stayed 2 nights so I didn't mention it to management. Wasn't too big a deal as we just used the kitchen for quick breakfast/no cooking. The public park is next to sliding door - sounds good but I could see privacy being an issue. This is coming from a fancy spoiled travel diva and I'm sure most would feel this is a 4 or 5 star place. In the end, had a great time & solid value given the location, but probably would not return.

  •  
  • Our Hale Kai vacation

    Stayed 28 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Al & Irene R from Victoria, Bc recommends this vacation rental

    Great property with the exception of internet connectivity, which is being remidied. The property management company goes above and beyond to ensure guest experience is special.

  •  
  • Love Hale Kai !

    Stayed 9 days ending in January, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Victoria, BC recommends this vacation rental

    Beautiful place to stay.
    love it here and hope to come to this paradise again and again. Thank you.

  •  
  • Great Stay

    Stayed 5 days ending in December, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Paul C from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Great Stay, thank you for a great experience

  •  
  • Hale Kai 101 - Happy Times!

    Stayed 29 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kevin F from Auburn, Washington recommends this vacation rental

    Overall we were very happy with our stay.
    Several things that could be improved upon... the wireless internet was not good at all. We stay for a month, and need to do business during this time, it was very frustrating how slow the internet was. The only other item is that the kitchen is very hot. There is no air moving in there, it would benefit from a ceiling fan or even a rotating fan to not have heat stroke when cooking.
    We love the place, love sharing with our friends, and can't wait to come again!

  •  
  • Awesome highly recommend

    Stayed 7 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Michael S from rancho santa margarita, ca recommends this vacation rental

    Perfect location

  •  
  • Hale Kai #101

    Stayed 5 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Reynoldsburg, Oh recommends this vacation rental

    Very clean unit and great location. Spectacular view. General manager, Valerie, was exceptional - very attentive to any question or need during our stay. Only issue was no air conditioner in unit and we happened to visit during an exceptionally humid time with no trade winds.

  •  
  • Great Stay

    Stayed 6 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tyler M from Vancouver, BC recommends this vacation rental

    It was truly fantastic, check in was easy, room was beautiful, exactly as we wanted. Amenities were clean, fantastic experience. Would recommend and stay again.

  •  
  • Best unit in Hale Kai

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Rusty W from South Jordan, UT recommends this vacation rental

    We loved our time in unit #101. The unit was beautifully remoldeled and everything was like new. We arrived late on the first night so we weren't able to apreciate the view from our lani till the next morning. When we did wake the next morning our teenaged daughter was up before us; around 5:45, in awe of the view.
    The beach was literally feet from the Lani as well. There were no less than three turtles eating off the rocks every afternoon, I was even able snorkel out a short distance and swim with one, among hundreds of other beautiful fish as well.

    We would defiantly recommend Hale Kai #101, you won't be disappointed

  •  
  • Hale sweet hale!

    Stayed 15 days ending in January, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Victoria, BC recommends this vacation rental

    This was our second time at Hale Kai, first time in this unit. Once again we had an amazing time! Loved our unit and would stay there without hesitation again. Valerie and team were professional and extremely helpful, looking after any detail right away. Thank you all very much for making our holiday amazing! Mahalo!

    • Manager Responded on 1/20/2015

      Aloha, Thanks for again choosing Hale Kai and #101 for your oceanfront vacation. 101's location is second to none, bright and airy inside after a complete remodel. Valerie and Michelle do a great job in our onsite office and provide wonderful Aloha for our guests. Mahalo

  •  
  • Hale Kai #101

    Stayed 9 days ending in January, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Eugene, OR recommends this vacation rental

    This condo really is one of the best in the complex! It has just been remodeled so everything was perfect. The ocean is 10ft from the condo; whale watching and sea turtles. The pool was about 50ft away. Staff was friendly. Laundry room with clothes line and books to borrow. Farmers market. My teenagers were able to walk to pizza and gelato and pedicure and massage and souvenir shopping.

    If I had to give the "bad".... There is a slotted bathroom door which doesn't give a very "private" feel. And the condo is right next to the park. We had NO trouble and it felt safe, but again, not very private....

    I would absolutely recommend this condo!!

    • Manager Responded on 1/5/2015

      Aloha, Thanks for your review and great to hear you enjoyed #101. The park is public and closes at 8 Pm nightly, while our buildings have security lights at night, which illuminate immediately outside the condos for security. Mahalo

  •  
  • Perfect location for a dream stay in Maui

    Stayed 6 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Frederic E recommends this vacation rental

    Awesome experience. The location is fantastic, we could hear the sound of the waves and enjoy the whale watching from the terrasse. A dream place to stay in Maui.

    • Manager Responded on 1/9/2015

      Aloha, Great title and very pleased you enjoyed the location. Mahalo

  •  
  • Hawaiian paradise

    Stayed 14 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Polson, Montana recommends this vacation rental

    This was one of the most beautiful view you could ask for in a rental. Everyone was extremely nice to my friend and I. I would return in a heartbeat!!!

    • Manager Responded on 1/3/2015

      Aloha, Great title and we are so pleased you enjoyed the unit's amazing ocean views. We look forward to your return. Mahalo

  •  
  • I Want to Go Back!

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lahnie N from Santa Cruz, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This unit has to be the best in the complex, the view fantastic. The sound of the waves were a constant reminder of where we were. The location on the island was great, not too far from anything. Very well stocked with all items one could need.

    • Manager Responded on 10/13/2014

      Aloha, Always great to hear guests want to return. #101 was recently remodeled and has amazing ocean front views with everything one needs. Mahalo

  •  
  • Very nice condo - great location

    Stayed 9 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephane C from Antony recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time in this condo.
    Very convenient and everything you need.
    Location is fantastic !

    • Manager Responded on 8/27/2014

      Aloha, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay, the premier location and beautiful ocean views of #101. Mahalo

  •  
  • Maui at it's best!!

    Stayed 5 days ending in February, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Coldstream, BC recommends this vacation rental

    We love the Hale Kai. The guests that come back year after year are so nice, it makes our visit that more enjoyable! The views from this unit are spectacular, i don't think you could get closer to the ocean! Wonderful stay, we go back every year!!

    • Manager Responded on 2/20/2014

      Aloha, A great summation of Hale Kai and #101. Our guests that return each year, add to the 'Aloha' which makes Hale Kai a special vacation. Mahalo

  •  
  • Family Vacation

    Stayed 21 days ending in January, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Jim & Mary T from Vancouver, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Fun time for all, Grandkids loved the great beach to play and run
    Lovely view and location, friendly neighbors Very enjoyable time at HKR

    • Manager Responded on 1/28/2014

      Aloha - Yes, #101 is a great spot for all. Just a few short paces to the beach and ocean, with amazing scenic views to relax with all day... Mahalo

  •  
  • Best location...but

    Stayed 10 days ending in November, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Marcel O from Quebec, Quebec recommends this vacation rental

    What a wonderful location this unit, but.... It really needs a good make-over. A good paint job, clean the furniture, the draps need cleaning. The unit is full equipped,the kitchen is all new, the location is perfect. There is only the cleaning and the furniture that would need a good re-new! We would definitly be back in the same unit if all this job would be done. By the way, all the personnel and the other owners where wonderful with us,Thank you for the excellent service and the cleanliness of the propertie outside the unit.

    • Manager Responded on 11/21/2013

      Aloha - We appreciate you had a great stay at hale Kai and enjoyed all the amenities. Unit #101 is scheduled for a total remodel in May 2014. Mahalo - HKR, LLC

  •  
  • As Beachfront As It Gets!

    Stayed 14 days ending in October, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from North Bend, Or recommends this vacation rental

    You would be hard pressed to find a better location on the beach than #101 at Hale Kai on Maui. The view from the unit is amazing! The grounds were clean and well landscaped. The unit itself could use a "little" updating, but overall was well-equipped, clean, and comfortable. Guest satisfaction is definitely a priority for them and it showed! Hale Kai #101--would go back in a heart beat!

  •  
  • Gorgeous condo by the sea

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Allison C recommends this vacation rental

    This place was a really good find. We dealt with the managers and had no problems at all. The position is right on the sea and on the public beach park so it is convenient if you've got kids. We loved the turtle sightings every afternoon. The market across the street and the coffee shop were also excellent, we would stay here again

  •  
  • Great locarion - great view

    Stayed 17 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephane C from Antony recommends this vacation rental

    Condo is very well located. Basic equipments but enough for a great experience.
    Enjoy the view and sound of waves !

  •  
  • Great location

    Stayed 14 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Chris G from Stony Plain, Alberta recommends this vacation rental

    Front office staff very good as was the location. My kids loved the pool and it was usually just the two of them in there. Lots of room in the unit, but furniture is a little dated.

  •  
  • Great condo

    Stayed 10 days ending in June, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Seth K from Berkeley, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Hale Kai is the best!

  •  
  • Greatings from Denmark

    Stayed 6 days ending in June, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mogens Heyk P from Esbjerg V, Ribe recommends this vacation rental

    We were on a 6 week journey from Denmark and this place were wonderfull - very kindly People and good place to stay

  •  
  • Love this place!

    Stayed 7 days ending in May, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Beth H recommends this vacation rental

    This was our third visit to The Hale Kai and this time we brought the entire family, all 16 of them. Everyone loved this place. Thank you for being there for us to enjoy and thank you to all the staff who helped us arrange for our fabulous reunion. Chuck and Beth Howell and family

  •  
  • Living on the beach

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dave S from San Diego, CA recommends this vacation rental

    An amazing location steps from the ocean. Falling asleep to the sound of the waves at night, swimming with the turtles during the day. The open space of the park next door is a nice buffer, and the markets across the street were convenient and had some good foods. There's a great cross-breeze to keep the place cool. The property is a little older, but the unit has been updated. The modern kitchen has all the tools for making meals to enjoy on the lanai. I liked how the closet was well-stocked with water toys, snorkel gear, ice chest. Plus replacement light bulbs and extra towels. Even has a folding table and chairs to set up at the park. The flashlight was nice to have for spying on the beach crabs, geckos and cane toads at night! And the herb garden on the wall outside was a nice touch. As for Hale Kai, we enjoyed meeting some of the long-term residents and blowing the conch shell at sunset. The BBQs work great, and the pool is clean and refreshing. The office staff is very friendly. The laundry room/library/recycling area is kept clean. Parking was never a problem - every unit gets a spot so it works out fine. We were very relaxed and the kids had the best experience getting to know the island.

  •  
  • Kim & **** Hikade

    Stayed 5 days ending in April, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Kim H from Estacada, Or recommends this vacation rental

    We have stayed at the Hale Kai several times over the past 28 years. I visited with my parents as a child and now my husband and family. We love the Hale Kai.
    This past trip we wanted to rent 101 for the whole two weeks when I initiated reservations in August 2012. At that time i was told 101 was only available for 5 days so i took it and booked 102 for the remainder. In late February i was online and noticed 101 had opened for 6 more days. I phoned to ask to take those additional days and was told i could not change my reservation within 60 days without a charge. Then there was another charge for staying in 102 less than 5 days. I just felt the policy was very unflexible to make the accomodation since it was my original request to stay in 101 as long as possible. and it sat empty from the day we left until 6 days later. Frustrating and silly! Thank you, Kim Hikade--looking forward to my next trip to the Hale Kai !!! ps--the place looks better than ever too

  •  
  • My stay

    Stayed 5 days ending in April, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bahman M from La Jolla, Ca recommends this vacation rental

    We had a lot of fun, place was great. I recommend this place anytime

  •  
  • Hale Kai 101

    Stayed 21 days ending in February, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Vincenzo & Brandi S from San Francisco, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We've been coming the same time each year for 12 years. It was our 8 year old's 9th trip. The housecleaning service was quite poor. The unit's large windows were not clean and the unit itself was not very clean. The cleaning mid trip was very sloppy and we know the cleaning lady and tipped her. If it was my property I would be quite unhappy with how unclean it is being kept. Valerie in property mgt. is fantastic. She is so responsive and helpful. We come because the same friends have been coming for 30 and 40 years and our daughter is like a grandchild to them. We want to keep coming each year but if people our age come for the first time the units have to be clean so they'll want to come back.

    • Manager Responded on 2/18/2013

      Aloha Brandi & Vincenzo I am very dissappointed about your comments. I am responsible for the housekeeping and you never once said anything to me. I can not correct what I do not know about. I am sorry your expectation were not met. It is a great unit with a view you can not get much better or closer to the ocean. The owners remodeled the kitchen and bath in 2012, they bought new beds and a very large flat screen TV and take great pride in their unit. I am sure they will find this review unsettleing. To the owners I say I am confused by the guests. Mahalo Valerie

  •  
  • Best location on Maui

    Stayed 22 days ending in January, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barb & Strick A from Saltspring Island, BC recommends this vacation rental

    We love Hale Kai and 101 is the best location of all the units. We like the improvements that have been made in the last couple of years. The only thing missing was a pair of binoculars to watch the whales.

    • Manager Responded on 2/12/2013

      Mahalo for your kind words! We liked your suggestion regarding the binoculars - great idea! Looking forward to your return next year. Aloha, Carolyn and Kathy, owners

  •  
  • Wonderful Christmas!

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Defiance, OH recommends this vacation rental

    The location of this condo was perfect. It was quiet and peaceful. The only interruptions was the noise of the surf and the lookouts for whales, sea turtles, and monk seals. The place was even better than the pictures. I'm sure we'll be back again! Aloha!

    • Manager Responded on 1/4/2013

      Aloha Kathy So glad you enjoyed your time at Hale Kai. Look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo Valerie

  •  
  • Would go back to this condo again and again!

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Leduc, Alberta recommends this vacation rental

    We had a wonderful seven day stay at #101 Hale Kai. The view from our sitting room and patio was astounding. The turtles frolicked in the waves just off our patio. The condo was well equipped. The location great with a farmers market and gourmet coffee shop right across the street.

    • Manager Responded on 1/17/2013

      Aloha Robert Our location is just one of the great thing about Hale Kai. Our Honokowai Turtles have their own web site and are kept track of. They feed off our property along the reefs so they are here on and off all day. Mahalo for staying with us at Hal Kai Valerie

  •  
  • Waves and Turtles

    Stayed 9 days ending in November, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Yountville, CA recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed for 10 days and had a great time. the condo is lovely and was easy to relax and enjoy a rare on the water living experience.

    • Manager Responded on 1/17/2013

      Aloha Jon You can not get much closer to the ocean then this unit. We are a small complex and easy to relax at by the ocean or pool. Mahalo for staying with us Valerie

  •  
  • Good stay

    Stayed 7 days ending in October, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Heather T from Anchorage, AK recommends this vacation rental

    The location can't be beat, and the pool is lovely. Unit 101 has wonderful views of the ocean.

    Unit 101 could use a bit of maintenance. Some paint is peeling, the coffee maker didn't always work, and the twin beds were just downright uncomfortable. A memory foam topper was present in the master bedroom, which made that bed very comfortable; similar toppers for the twin beds would be nice--or just get new mattresses. Also, a number of the jalousie blinds on the park side of the unit were broken (the plastic frames for the glass were cracked, so the glass was slipping out). The VCR didn't work (so we couldn't watch the movies available), although the DVD player worked just fine. Finally, although the kitchen and bathroom have been updated recently, the rest of the furnishings are quite dated. It has the potential to be a spectacular rental, if only a little TLC and cash are invested into the unit.

    Aside from these issues, we had a great stay. The property management is great, the location is great, and it is a good value for the price you pay compared to other spots on Maui. This was our third time to Hale Kai, and we will likely come visit again.

    • Manager Responded on 11/26/2012

      Mahalo for your review ~ we always enjoy hearing from our guests! Glad you liked our new Cal King sized bed with the topper - we love it too! We'll check on the comfy level of the twin beds - thanks for the heads up. We periodically replace the tropical furniture to keep our condo fresh and inviting. The current collection celebrates Maui's famous red dirt with rust, brown and orange hues while the miniature palm tree pattern in the fabric mimics the abundant number of palms close by. We've just purchased a 42" flat screen TV and a Blue Ray DVD-CD player . . . nice additions to our unit. Glass jalousies do occasionally slip out of their holders - unfortunately it happens - we're sorry for the inconvenience. It has been fixed. You're so right - the location and views speak volumes. Glad you enjoyed your stay! Aloha, Carolyn & Kathy, owners

  •  
  • Outstandng place

    Stayed 8 days ending in August, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephane C from Antony recommends this vacation rental

    Just one word perfect.
    We will come back next year !

    • Manager Responded on 10/1/2012

      Thank you very much for your views - we think so too! Looking forward to having you back in 2013. Aloha, Carolyn & Kathy, owners

  •  
  • Heavenly Hale Kai

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Joanna M from Sebastopol, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Unit 101 was perfect for us...easy backdoor access to a great beach, ocean sounds and breezes filtering through a multitude of louvered windows, friendly staff - as well as neighbors. As a family who prefers casual and active over formal and frou-frou we really couldn't have been happier. Plenty of space, daylight, amenities etc without any of the claustrophobic high-rise jet-set mentality (which is where you'll find sterile boredom!). For us, this was Maui/Hawaii at its best....not to mention the location is brilliant for going back and forth from west to south etc. Fabulous stay - I hope we'll be back some day...

    • Manager Responded on 8/28/2012

      We're so glad you and your family enjoyed our unit ~ we think it's pretty special too! Mahalo for your kind words! Aloha, Carolyn & Kathy, owners

  •  
  • Great Location

    Stayed 26 days ending in March, 2012

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Lee & Lauren U from Lake Oswego, OR recommends this vacation rental

    Location, location, location! Have been enjoying Hale Kai since 1976. Will continue to return as long as we are able.

    • Manager Responded on 5/24/2012

      Glad you’ve enjoyed Hale Kai 101 over the past thirty years. Mahalo ~ look forward to your return next spring! Hope you were pleased with our new kitchen; we are constantly striving to keep this condo updated – improvements to the bathroom are in the works.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Jun 16, 2017-Aug 15, 2017 $248 $1,732 na 5 No restrictions
Aug 16, 2017-Dec 15, 2017 $220-$245 $1,544-$1,715 $6,615-$7,350 5 No restrictions
Dec 16, 2017-Feb 28, 2018 $285 $1,995 $8,550 5 No restrictions
Mar 1, 2018-Apr 15, 2018 $275 $1,925 $8,250 5 No restrictions
Apr 16, 2018-Jun 15, 2018 $245 $1,715 $7,350 5 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
20.955488,-156.685833

HKR, LLC, # W33827739-01, DBA: Hale Kai Oceanfront Condominiums 3691 Lower Honoapiilani Road Lahaina, HI 96761 +1 (800) 446-7307 halekai@halekai.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon